Some People don’t like Celebrities by Michael Ian Black

This one interested me because the author is from one of my favorite movies, Wet Hot American Summer and the comedy central show Stella, which is also very enjoyable. I’ve heard he’s a tool in real life. But, he’s also very funny. Anyway he starts off with, “Some people just don’t like me. I know this is hard to believe, especially when you consider the following: 1) I am a celebrity (very famous). 2) I have sixty percent of my income to ‘Jerry’s kids.’ 3) I hardly ever kick my dog.. Two of these things are true, and shouldn’t that be enough to ensure me a large measure of goodwill from my fellow man?”  He said that he first discovered that people dislike for him after he appeared on I Love the 70’s. After his appearance on the show he checked out their Internet message board and saw that the majority of the posts expressed hatred towards him. The post that had the most devastating impact on him was the one that read, “Michael Ian Black is not that cute.” This was funny that it had the most affect on him because it was the most positive post of the bunch. He went through these posts and gave his own commentary on each. For his closing he states an apology to the people that wrote them. His apology consist of many “really”’s.

            Honestly, it wasn’t that funny. I was more interested in it because I like his humor. It made me think about technology and how the internet allows people to publicize their hatred for one another. It may or may not be true that Michael Ian Black is an arrogant person, but he has made a name for himself. So, if these hateful opinions ring true, in some sense, he’s almost warranted to act this way. Also, I found it funny that people have so much time to write these posts and think that their personal opinions hold value. It also made me reflect on my earlier assumption, when I wrote, “I’ve heard he’s a tool in real life.” Where did I hear this? And why did I associate the word “tool” with Michael Ian Black? Reflecting back, I guess I’m as guilty as the people writing the posts because I give into the superficial info provided by celeb gossipers.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment